Logo Academics

AcademicsFacultyCoursesCalendarLibrary

Databases A-Z

Use databases to find articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and online reference books.  The databases will open in new windows. 

You can get a list of database passwords from the
Database Passwords page. Note: links to passwords are available for on-campus computers only. 
Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture (AGORA)
This database provides access to major journals in agriculture and related biological, environmental and social sciences offered by the leading academic publishers.
Password required

African Journals OnLine (AJOL): A Gateway to African Published Research
Over 300 African-published journals in agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences.  Citations only, few full text articles.  See the librarian to order the full text. No password required

Cambridge University Press Online Journals
Online access to nearly 200 journals from Cambridge University Press spanning the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Password required

Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It covers all subjects and languages and provides full text access to 470 journals.
 

EBSCO- Access to the following databases Password required

Academic Search Complete
Designed specifically for academic institutions, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Covers 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.  

Business Source Complete
Definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for more than 1,200 journals.

MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications, including biographies and images.

Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for 35 US and international newspapers.

There are also databases on health, medicine, education, religion and philosophy, among others

Edinburgh University Press – African countries initiative 
Full text access to journals Africa and African journal of international and comparative law.   No password required from on-campus computers

Emerald
Provides access to articles from 100 journals in the fields of management, information science and engineering intended for a world-wide audience.
Password required

Encyclopedia Britannica online
Provides access to the reputable online version of this reputable encyclopedia.  One of the best places to start for general information and/or an overview of a subject. No password required from on campus computers

Global Development Network 
After registration can access Project MUSE scholarly journals online.    

HINARI
Gives access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. Over 3750 journal titles are available.   Password required.

JSTOR
Provides access to electronic archive of important scholarly literature. The database contains over 1,000 journal titles and over 176,000 individual journal issues.  Access limited to on-campus computers; no password needed
MIT Open Courseware
Searchable access to Massachusetts Institute of Technology's course materials for educators, students, and self-learners.  This database allows access to syllabi, course materials, and reading lists for over 1800 MIT courses. No password needed

OARE (Online Access to Research in the Environment)
Gives access to over 1,300 peer-reviewed journals in areas related to the environment and environmental sciences research.  Password required.

Wiley InterScience (formerly Blackwell Synergy)
Provides access to over 800 leading learned journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences.  No password required from on campus computers
Library
Library Home

Library Catalogue
(Web OPAC)

Online Databases

Resources by Subject

Search Engines & Directories

Library Instruction

Library Hours

Library Regulations

 

Back to top


Copyright Ashesi University Foundation. All rights reserved.